Es tiempo, pt. 1

by natalieclaw

I have a lot of catching up to do.
Several weeks ago, around the time it turned 2013, I decided to be a better blogger and update as often as I used to, if not moreso… I even updated my Orientation/About page to kickstart this energy!
Then, I was swept away by family on a last-minute journey to Guatemala, marking my first time flying with (and being responsible for) my Grandma AND my first time back to Guate since I was four-years-old (aka my first time in Guate where I’ll remember anything). Needless to say, it was large.
Before that trip, I had been stuck in an uncomfortable spiral of applying for jobs to no avail, meanwhile celebrating my first holidays at home in two years. Also quite large.
Sure, I’ve been busy, but excuses are pale; it’s time to post.

Before I jump in with the new, I think it only fair to fill-in the gap with the old. These two notebook pages summarize the past several months pretty squarely: chocolate and angst.

Needless to say, being unemployed (and not eligible for unemployment benefits) for 6 months wasn’t exactly at the top of my list of Things to Do When I Returned From Spain. This is the longest I’ve gone without a job since, well, ever. It’s unpleasant new territory, but at least it’s given me time to think and plan and scheme… and eat chocolate sandwiches.

20130203-201731.jpg

Disclaimer re: the entry below…
I generally try and stray from posting angsty diary updates on the interwebs, but I can’t seem to let this rant go unranted– plus, my next update will be much more pleasant, so consider this this the awkward bit right before I start to do awesome things.
And at the very least, maybe this’ll help someone else who may have also thought it redundant to list “knowledge of computers” as a skill on an online job application.
I apologize for the sap, but never for the sass.

20130203-201752.jpg

20130203-201806.jpg